Enduro National Championships

On Sunday 20 August 2017 the first Irish National Enduro Championships took place at Carrick Mountain, Co. Wicklow hosted by Biking.ie.  This was a demonstration event and also doubled up as the Gravity Enduro championships as well so there was lots to play for.  The running of the national championships was part of recognition of the discipline within Cycling Ireland with a set of rules produced accordingly (see rules here).

The day started off dry but the predicted rain arrived around noon, first with light drizzle and then the rain got heavier.  Trails were mucky but the riders still managed to find grip on the 6 timed stages.  The mucky smiling faces said it all.  Full gravity championship results can be found here.  The final round of the Gravity Enduro series takes place on 9/10 September in Djouce Woods. See details here.

For the 2017 Demonstration National Championships the medal winners were:

Juniors (issue with podium on the day)
1. Emmet Callaghan
2. Anthony Dunne
3. Sean Di Fiore

1. Leah Maunsell
2. Sophie Bagnall
3. Michelle Muldoon

Elite men
1. Kelan Grant
2. Scott Wallace
3. Gavin O’Connell

M30 men
1. Kyle Nelson
2. Mark Nugent
3. Ronan Hopkins

M40 men
1. Glyn O’Brien
2. Michael Cowan
3. Hugh Arthur

M50 men
1. Brian Finnegan
2. Michael O’Reilly
3. Don O’Connor

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.