All posts by Secretary

Tough racing at the World Cyclo-cross Championships

The Cycling Ireland Off-road Commission sent 5 riders to the 2019 World Cyclo-cross Championships. The event was held over the weekend of 2-3 February at Bogense, Denmark. The team consisted of
Adam McGarr and Sean Nolan (Junior men), Lara Gillespie and Lucy O’Donnell (U23 women) and David Conroy (U23 men). Saturday was for Junior men and U23 men. Sunday was for the U23 women. On Saturday there was very cold and windy conditions on the exposed coastal course. Several steep banks and treacherous descents on the course. The course had a thin slice of mud on top but hard frozen ground underneath. Large entry of riders. Large crowds to cheer them on. These worlds had the most participants in the events history.

Continue reading Tough racing at the World Cyclo-cross Championships