The hill was filled again at the Coillte Emerald Enduro

The crew delivered the goods yet again on the Carrick hill over the weekend (26-28 May) hosting another mighty Enduro World Series event. This was Round 4 of 8 of the 2017 series which started in New Zealand, then went to Australia, Madeira before landing in Ireland. This was the third year that Niall Davis and his team had put on the event which required a small army of volunteers. A huge thanks to all those who helped support the event over the three days.

This year there was an additional event added, the Challenge event, which took place on the Saturday over 4 stages. The weather on the Saturday was the biggest challenge with long spells of persistent rain making for a very mucky affair. Well done to the winners of the age categories – Drew Armstrong (14-18), James Fleming (19-29), Daniel Collins (30-39), Gary Wall (40-49), Keith Callaghan (50+) and Tarja Owens (Women). Results for the Challenge Event here.

Sunday was the main racing day, the day the locals riders mixed it up with the pros. Social media had been filled with #fillthehill, the call out to the Irish population to come along and support the event. And indeed they came. The car park was twice as big as last year. The sun shone. The ice cream van was doing a good trade and the crowds headed up the hill to line the stages. The crowds, as always, made every rider feel a superstar on the stages and also the genuine encouragement/heckling provided on the transitions. The noise level was raised with makeshift metal noise makers, cow bells and chain saws. The riders raced down the 6 stages through walls of noise. If this didn’t make them try their hardest then nothing would.

Greg Callaghan, who won here both in 2015 and 2016, went into the event leading the series. He was the superstar that the crowds shouted the loudest for. Unfortunately it wasn’t his day as he finished 10th overall, but still leads the series. Adrien Dailly (FRA) took the win in the Men’s category with Sam Hill (AUS) second and Martin Maes (BEL) third. In the Men’s 40+ category last year’s winner, Robin Seymour, had a puncture and had to settle for 5th place with Michael Cowan taking 4th. In the men’s Under 21 race Killian Callaghan couldn’t repeat his win from last year as he finished 4th. Soph Bagnall took the win in the Women’s Masters race. Leah Maunsell just missed out on a return to the top step in the Women’s Under 21 race as she finished 2nd.

A link to the results is given here

Well done to all the riders, to the management crew and to the army of volunteers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *