First notification of the Off-road Commission’s AGM

This is the first notification of Cycling Ireland Off-road Commission Annual General Meeting (AGM).  This meeting will take place on Saturday 21 January 2017 – venue to be confirmed (Dublin based).

Positions on the Commission
The commission will be made up with the following 8 positions.  All of the posts are up for re-election.

  • Chair
  • Secretary
  • Treasurer
  • DH co-ordinator
  • XC co-ordinator
  • CX co-ordinator
  • Enduro rep
  • Youth Development Co-ordinator

Continue reading

Expression of interest – Junior & Espoir Cyclo-cross riders

Calling Junior and Espoir Cyclo-cross riders – Expression of interest required

The Cycling Ireland Off-road Commission is looking for Expressions of Interest from Junior and Under 23 cyclo-cross riders to race at the

Riders should have a current 2016 licence with UCI code “IRL”, an up-to-date passport and be available to travel Thursday 27 October returning on Monday 31 October 2016.

Riders should send their Cycling CV to
In the CV there should be: Name, home address, email address, telephone number, emergency contact name and number, date of birth, licence number, and recent results in the order of:- cyclo-cross, other off-road disciplines, other cycling disciplines.

Deadline for expression of interest will be midnight on Wednesday 12 October 2016.

Death of a legend

We have just learned that the legend of Irish off-road cycling, Richie Byrne, has passed away.  Richie had been battling cancer and had brought us on a journey with him through the struggles he had as he was brave enough to share those experiences on Facebook.  He has left behind a huge legacy going back to the very earliest days of the sport in Ireland.  His Epic Blast will long live in the memory.  From pushing on top athletes to taking out beginners for their first mountain bike spin, from competing locally and internationally, he had done it all.  We all wanted to get to know him, but that also meant he then knew who you were so there was no hiding from the banter he dished out on the microphone when commenting at races.  The “Godfather”.  RIP Richie.  Deepest condolences to his family.


Photograph above provided with permission from Adrian.

Robin Seymour – World Masters Champion!

XCO UCI Mountain Bike Masters World Championships took place in Val di Sole, Trentino, Italy on 31 August 2016.  Robin Seymour (Team Worc) took part in the M45-49 age group and was gridded on the front row.  From the whistle Robin took to the front having a close battle with Spaniard Francesco Xavier Carnicer but finally dropping him to finish well clear after 5 laps. 

Seymour  Continue reading

XC National Championships – Technical Guide

A Technical Guide for the upcoming Irish National Cross-country Mountain Bike Championships 2016 is available here.
A final list of entries is given here.

Gridding will be taken from the latest NPS league table (after 4 rounds)- here.
Gridding for the Senior Men, M30, M40, M50 races has been calculated from the NPS league tables with overall results weighted by the following factor.
Senior 1 x 1
Senior 2 x 0.6
Senior 3 x 0.4
Senior 4 – not used for weighted values
Priority is given to last year’s winner, the current NPS XCO points and then the Weighted NPS scores.  To see the gridding list click here.