Irish National Youth Cyclo-cross Championships 2018

Details of the upcoming National Youth Cyclo-cross championships which will be held on Sunday 28 January 2018 at Knockbracken Reservoir, Carryduff, Belfast are given below.  The championship categories are Under 16s and Under 14s but the event will also have support races for the Under 6s up to the Under 12s.

Closing  date for entries for the championship race is Thursday 25 January 2018 – 23:59.
Registration link here.
Closing date for the support races is Friday 26 January 2018 at 8 pm.
Registration link for support races here.

List of entries for the national championship categories is given here.
List of entries for the support race is given here (Password “Support”)

Continue reading

Exciting racing at the National Cyclo-cross Championships

The 2018 Irish National Cyclo-cross Championships was hosted by Team WORC and took place on Sunday 14 January 2018 at Glencullen Adventure Park County Dublin, better known as “The GAP”. The GAP is one of the newest bike parks in Ireland having been converted from an old golf course by project leader Matt Davy ( The site boasts uplift services, changing facilities and a café. The host club are grateful for the support from Matt and his team to accommodate the event. Continue reading

Entry open for the 2018 National Cyclo-cross Championships

Entry is now open for the 2018 Irish National Cyclo-cross Championships which are being held at Glencullen Adventure Park (The GAP) on Sunday 14 January 2018 hosted by Team WORC.

2018 licences required and entry is via the Cycling Ireland Azolve  portal.  Registration closes on Sunday 7 January 2018.  No other entries are allowed after that date.  If you have any issues with registration please contact

A list of entries to date is shown here.

A technical guide for the event is given here.  There are also support races on the Saturday.

A breakdown of the points which will be used for the gridding is shown here.  By category this list can be seen here.  The final entry list with gridding is shown here.

Visit from Belgium National CX coach

Belgium national cyclocross coach Rudy de Bie played host to the latest National Cyclocross Development Squad day last weekend (2 December 2017). Twenty two riders availed of the vast experience and guidance of Rudy at the National Sports Campus in Dublin. Some of the discipline’s most notable pro riders and world champions such as Sven Nys, Bart Wellens and Mario de Clerq all came through the cyclocross ranks under the close guidance and mentoring of Rudy de Bie.

Continue reading

Appeal for volunteers to join the Cycling Ireland Off-road Commission

After the recent AGM there were two roles which were not filled in this year’s Cycling Ireland Off-road Commission.  A youth development co-ordinator and a cross-country co-ordinator.  Both positions are very important for the commission and we would love to fill these roles with passionate people.  If you feel you would like to come on board and help out please forward your name to as soon as you can.

Provisional 2018 calendar

The 2018 season looks like another packed one for all off-road disciplines.
The calendar link  here includes international dates in the various disciplines that some Irish riders will be attending.

All disciplines would like you to register early for their events.  We need to support the organisers in order to ensure the races take place.

Keep an eye out on the various discipline website for more details.

If you know of any additions or amendments for this calendar please email