Irish Youth Cyclo-cross Championships – results

The Irish Youth Cyclo-cross Championships took place today at Corkagh Park, Dublin hosted by Orwell Wheelers. An excellent day’s racing. Well done to all competitors.
Results here

Corkagh Park boasts an enclosed road circuit with thick grass around the edges. The course took in an anti-clockwise circuit using both the tarmac and the grass. The weather was dull and grey but remaining mostly dry all day.

The day started with the support races with the Under 6s starting first taking in 2 laps of their course. The Under 8s then went next with 4 laps of their course. The Under 10s used the same course as the Under 8s but had 6 laps to do. The Under 12s had one lap of the main circuit. There was a good turn out in all the support races.

Before the start of the Under 14s race a mark of respect was held for Tonya McEvoy from the host club, who was involved in a fatal accident one week earlier. The tribute was a one minute applause to celebrate her life.

The Under 14s race then got underway at 1 pm with the boys starting first and then the girls a few seconds later. Both had to complete 4 laps of the main course. In the boys race Darren Rafferty (Island Wheelers) took the win ahead of David McCarthy (MBCC) with Somhairle Owens Fisher (Omagh Wheelers Cycling Club) finishing third. In the girl’s race Caoimhe May (Orwell Wheelers Cycling Club) crossed the line first ahead of Maria McAllister (Island Wheelers) with Aoife O Brien (Lakeside Wheelers Mullingar CC) completing the podium.

The Under 16s started at 1:45 pm, with the 18 boys setting off first and the 10 girls setting off a few seconds later, both having to complete 5 laps of the course. There was light rain at the start of the Under 16s race but it didn’t affect the course conditions too much. There was an close battle at the front of the boys race with Will and Archie Ryan (both from O’Leary Stone Kanturk) sticking to each other’s wheel every lap apart from the last when Will pulled away to take the win. Drew Armstrong (Killinchy Cycling Club) was out on his own in third place for the whole race. In the girl’s race Lara Gillespie (Orwell Wheelers Cycling Club) finished well clear of the chasers with Caoimhe O Brien (Lakeside Wheelers Mullingar CC) her closest rival and behind her was Niamh McKiverigan (Powerhouse Sport) who rounded off the podium.

Many thanks to all those from Orwell Wheelers and friends from other clubs who came together to host this event.

Report by Martin Grimley

Commissaires: Martin Grimley, Larry Farrell, Chloe Farrell

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.