Results from Day 1 of the UCI C2 Clonmel

The UCI C2 Clonmel cyclo-cross race has returned to Powerstown Park Racecourse in Clonmel over the weekend of 15-16 October 2022. Saturday saw the full schedule of youth races and the adult support race to close off the day. The weather started off dry and mild but the first shower arrived around 10 am and then the wind started picking up. The day was a mixture of showers and sunshine. A great set up again by Clonmel Cycling Club with the two scaffold bridges looking impressive, the long start/finish straight, the chicane around the large trees and then the section in the forest. Within the forest there was a new tricky section added. A slippery descent and then a bike carry up a challenging hill.

The day started off with the Under 6s who had one lap of a loop through the start/finish and around past the bridge. Well done to the 10 riders who finished and got a medal for their efforts.

The Under 8s then lined up. They had 3 laps of a similar course to the Under 6s. Taking the win in the boys’ race was Evan McTavish (Western Lakes CC) with Finn McTavish (Western Lakes CC) second and 0Fionn Murphy (Verge Sport PI Cycles) third. Fourth and fifth went to Eoin Crowley (Clonmel CC) and Fionn Fitzgerald (Un-Attached Munster) respectively. Marian Mulvaney (Sliabh Luachra Cycling Club) won the girls’ race when she finished ahead of Grace Dempsey (Clonmel CC) and Dara O’Connor (Fermoy Cycling Club). Sìun O’Connor (Fermoy Cycling Club) was fourth.

The Under 10s had an extended circuit to the Under 8s, heading up to the large trees in the corner of the event field. As expected Benjamin Cunningham (Orwell Wheelers Cycling Club) won the 3 lap race for the boys. Max McGrath (Fermoy Cycling Club) was second with Josh Turner (Orwell Wheelers Cycling Club) third, George Cleverley (Sliabh Luachra Cycling Club) fourth and Jacob Robinson (Bray Wheelers) coming up from 10th to take fifth. In the girls’ race Cara O’Sullivan (Sliabh Luachra Cycling Club) lead from start to finish with Molly Turner (Orwell Wheelers Cycling Club) picking up second, Caroline Collins (Sliabh Luachra Cycling Club) third, Ella O’Flaherty (Carlow RCC) fourth, Aisling Crowley (Clonmel CC) fifth and Anna Dempsey (Clonmel CC) sixth.

The Under 12s used almost the full course expect the forest. A real challenge for this age group across 3 laps. James Cunningham (Orwell Wheelers Cycling Club) was out on his own in the boys’ race finishing well ahead of his nearest rival, Dáire O’Flaherty (Carlow RCC). Noah Byrne (Carlow RCC) was third, Ronan Patrick McCarthy (MBCC) fourth and Diarmuid O’Sullivan (Greenmount CA) fifth. Eire McCrystal (Bellurgan Wheelers) lead after lap 1 of the girls’ race but it was Ava Baker (Breffni Wheelers) who took the win leaving Eire to settle for second.
Skye Spence (Shimna Wheelers Cycling Club) was third with Rose Linehan (Sliabh Luachra Cycling Club) fourth and Ciara O’Connor (Drogheda Wheelers) fifth.

Next up were the Under 16 girls, followed one minute later by the Under 14 girls. Greta Lawless (Team WORC) was out on her own in the Under 16 girls’ race. Faith Robinson (Bray Wheelers) made her way from 6th, to 4th to second. Aisha Gannon (Breffni Wheelers) was third with Kate Murphy (Sliabh Luachra Cycling Club) fourth and Rhiannon Dolan (Cuchulainn CC) fifth. Emer Heverin (Kinning Cycles Cycling Club) lead the Under 14 girls’ race from whistle to chequered flag. Isabelle Gaffney (Dungarvan CC) was second with Katie Turner (Orwell Wheelers Cycling Club) third, Orla Mulhearne (Panduit Carrick Wheelers) fourth and Abaigh Dennehy (Sliabh Luachra Cycling Club) fifth.

Next was the turn of the Under 16 boys and the Under 14 boys with the same one minute gap between the groups. Conor Murphy (Rostrevor Mountain Bike Club) put on a very convincing race and took the win for the Under 16 boys. David Gaffney (Dungarvan CC) was second with Cameron Henry (Inspired Cycling) third. Ryan Daly (Scott Bright Motor Group) and Jack Woods (Carlow RCC) finished fourth and fifth respectively. In the Under 14 boys’ race Rian McCrystal (Bellurgan Wheelers) set out with intent from the start line and got well up among the Under 16s to win comfortably. Shane O’Brien (Fermoy Cycling Club) was Rian’s nearest competitor and he had to work hard to stay ahead of Austin Henry (Inspired Cycling). Fourth place went to James Logue (Panduit Carrick Wheelers) with Eoin Davis (Bohermeen CC) fifth.

The final race of the day was for a support race for men and women. Race organiser John Dempsey (Verge Sport PI Cycles) lead off from the line and was still in first place at the end of lap one. Club mate David McCarthy (Verge Sport PI Cycles) took over the lead at the end of lap 2 but it was Mark Shannon (Burren Cycling Club) who took the win. David finished second with John taking third. Brian Condon (Blarney Cycling Club) was fourth with David O’Flaherty (Carlow RCC) just one place behind him. Among the women it was Joanne Grogan (BMB RACING TEAM) who took the win ahead of Kimberly Coleman (GREEN MOUNTAIN CX TEAM) with Elizabeth Kent (Arcane Cycling Team) third. Sienna O’Dwyer (Limerick Cycling Club) was fourth with Sinead Rock (Midleton CTC) fifth.

We are looking forward to another day of racing tomorrow with the M50s and M60s first, M40s in the second race, Junior men in the third race, Elite Women in the fourth race and then the Elite men in the final race of the day.

Commissaires: Gary McIlroy, Anthony Keneally, Richard O’Gorman, Mick Twoney and Martin Grimley.

Full results from Day 1 here

Race report by Martin Grimley

Sean Rowe (Facebook) – U14/U16 girls, U14/U16 boys, Support race

You may also like...